The Life You Left Behind

21 10 2012

This week, another poem. I encourage you to interpret it in the way that most benefits you, as there are unlimited ways to do so and I wish for you to get the most you can from this. Thus, The Life You Left Behind:

.

Wings in the Dark, drawing by author, 2012

Do you remember the sirens’ song

that lured you from your mother’s home

and kept you from your life so long?

.

Do you remember the ogre’s cries

the ones that left tears in your eyes

and trapped you ’till your last goodbyes?

.

Do you remember the oarsmen’s sweat

that was made hauling you as you bled

back to the place where you first met?

.

Do you remember the hospital wing

where you were treated like a king

’till you killed the ogre, gave back the ring?

.

Do you remember the children’s eyes

when you told them to say goodbye

and the ogre left, no longer lied?

.

Do you remember growing older

the children left and you grew colder

and climber over that long, last boulder?

.

Do you remember the light of your life

as you found me in my time of strife

and loved me from our first sight?

.

Do you remember all of this time

the things you loved, the times you cried

or forget the life you left behind?

.

You don’t remember, that’s okay

You know I’ll love you anyway

The life you never loved can wait.


Actions

Information

2 responses

22 10 2012
kdkh

I just nominated you for the Liebster Blog award: http://peacewithmylife.com/2012/10/21/one-good-deed-deserves-another/

22 10 2012
danniwarrior12

Thank you so much for the nomination! Of course, I am not as excited about you making me crawl out of the dusty corner that is my teenage existence and actually socialize like a normal homo sapien, but I always knew this day would come. Thank you.

Leave a comment